Install and upgrade Login for Mac

This topic describes how to upgrade and install Login for Mac.

Prerequisites

  • Login for Mac installer requires Python 3 on macOS version 12.3 (Monterey) or later.

Information about upgrading Login for Mac

  • Login for Mac supports upgrading from version 1.0.3 to 22.04.xx without uninstalling before installing the latest version.

Warning

If you have installed a version of Login for Mac (for example, 21.04) and you upgrade your operating system to MacOS 12+ (Monterey), you must run the Login for Mac installer again. This is to reinstall the authentication plugins that the operating system removes during the upgrade process.

Download and install Login for Mac

In this section, you'll install or upgrade Login for Mac for a workstation.

  1. From the SecureAuth product downloads page, download and unzip the Login for Mac zip file to the target workstation (laptop, desktop, server, etc).

    There are two zip files to download; be sure to choose the appropriate one for the target workstation. One is for Intel-based x86 machines and one is for M1 ARM-based machines.

  2. Unzip the file.

    You will see two files in the zip package appropriate for the target machine, like SecureAuthLogin-22.04.00-arm64.pkg and SecureAuthLogin-22.04.00-arm64-Uninstaller.pkg,

  3. Copy these files to the same folder as the config.json file on the target machine.

  4. Double-click the appropriate file like SecureAuthLogin-22.04.00-arm64.pkg to start the installation wizard for the application.

  5. Log out of the target machine.

    After this installation, SecureAuth Login for Mac appears on the next login session.

Uninstalling Login for Mac

On the target workstation, run the Login for Mac installer package.

Double-click the appropriate file on the target machine like SecureAuthLogin-22.04.00-arm64-Uninstaller.pkg to start the uninstall wizard for the application, and then follow the instructions on screen.

Log files are not uninstalled; use them for troubleshooting any issues with the uninstallation. After you have worked through any issues, you can delete the log files.